Posted on

Final Project Update: The Final Product is Just About Ready For Unveiling

Over the past couple of weeks I have made some enormous progress, increasing the amount of content on my website thirty-fold. I am nearing completion but there are a few things which I would still like to do. Firstly, after seeing the Chapbooks presentation, I would really like to update my metadata for each photo. Previously, I did not know what should go into some of the metadata sections provided but now I have a better idea.I have over sixty photos which would require metadata editing so the process will be a bit tedious. I’m sure the process will go pretty quickly and I hope to get this done within the next couple days. In terms of other tasks which are to be accomplished, I have my Google Earth map which will be completed shortly. I originally intended my Google Earth map to be a focal point of my project, but it has been eclipsed by my website and the substantial research component which went along with it. My Google Earth map will now be a supplementary resource with some interesting photos and geographic points marked for the topics touched upon in the website. This is okay with me as the main reason I wanted to have a Google Earth map is to layer historic maps of the Ward and I have long since done that. Brendan‘s project gave me some great ideas in terms of how to get my map up and running on the web. I already had a Wix site up and running (though not public) when I was trying out different types of web publishing software. When I saw that you could place a file dropbox on your site I took note and added one to mine, then added my existing KML file. My Wix site is almost complete but has not been published. I would like to make it look a little nicer first. What I will do once I am comfortable with publishing it, is add a link in my introduction with a note stating that visitors should check the Google Earth map out after exploring my website. That way they will know what they are looking at. If someone for some reason stumbles upon my Wix site first, I have already stated in my introduction that they should have a look at the main website first and will soon provide hyperlinks to it. All in all, I would say that I have completed my project now, but just want to do some fine tuning before releasing it. I understand now that Omeka might not have been the best choice in terms of my website being fluid and concise, but I still think it was a good choice for the academic nature of my site. It is only unfortunate that Omeka does not have a plugin for Google Earth. Nonetheless, I am working with what I have and I am pleased with the work I have done and what the finished product will look like and I hope you guys are too.

Leave a comment