Posted on

Final Project Issues

I have encountered some set backs in terms of my final project since my blog post last night. Unfortunately, the Wellington County Museum charges for each photo requested. I calculated how much it would cost me with the number of photos I was interested in and it comes to a total of $112.50. Unfortunately, that will not be happening. The Guelph Civic Museum has a similar system to obtain high resolution copies, however, the museum also mentioned that if I do not need high resolution photos that they can be copied from their website. In this case, I will be sure to state that the photos are courtesy of the Guelph Civic Museum and list pertinent information for those who wish to look the item up on their online catalogue. The Guelph Civic Museum online catalogue proved to be a very fruitful source of information and particularly photographs for me. I will be sure to make use of it. Additionally, the proximity of the museum to home makes it a far more convenient resource in terms of arranging appointments to view particular items. Despite my difficulties with the Wellington County Museum, they did suggest having a look at city directories and tax records at the Guelph Public Library which I will try my best to make time for. All in all, I experienced a few set backs and wasted a bit of time in terms of obtaining material but now I have a better sense of the resources available to me.

Leave a comment