Posted on

Final Project Ideas

After meeting with Jennifer Marvin at the Data Resource Centre I have a few new ideas for my project. Originally, I was thinking of simply creating an interactive map using Google Earth and creating a more research intensive project which draws upon local history more extensively. However, after my meeting I have a few new ideas. Using the University of Guelph archives and the Guelph Civic Museum I could compile a collection of historical photos which I would like to use. Using fire insurance plans available at the library, I could compile some information in terms of workplaces, where they were located, and how this has changed over time. Upon request, I could have maps digitized which I could also include on my website. I could either have a webiste with a more diverse array of media or I could try to integrate these resources into a tour using the manual on Web-Based Mapping Tools that we were given. Most importantly, I now have a traditionally working class target area of Guelph which I would like to examine which is St. Patrick’s Ward or, more informally, “the Ward.” Though I do not yet have much knowledge of the Ward’s history, I should be able to find information from a variety of sources which I have been discovering and am discovering as I type this blog post such as the Ward Residents’ Association and their blog. What’s more: turns out I actually live in the Ward! At this stage, I feel like I have my work cut out for me. I have a more clear idea of what I would like to accomplish, but now my main concern is time. Most of my work thus far has consisted of brainstorming and establishing a clear concept of what I want to to, now I must work through the logistics of making it happen.

Leave a comment